Winterhawks hand out Hardware

The Saugeen Shores Winterhawks wrapped up their 10th season in the W.O.A.A. Sr. “AA” Hockey League on Friday with their annual awards banquet and fan appreciation night.

Goaltender Jeff Flagler was the big winner on the evening, taking home three awards, the Jim Little Memorial Award for rookie of the year, while sharing the MVP honours for both the regular season and the playoffs.

In his first season with the Winterhawks, the Owen Sound native was 10-0-1 in the regular season, with a league-record goals-against average of 1.80.

Curtis Johnston and Bryan Kazarian each scored 28 points during the regular season to share the regular season leading scorer trophy, while Johnston and Flagler shared the regular season MVP honours.

Jeff MacDermid’s 11 points in 9 playoff games netted him a share of the playoff MVP award, along with Flagler, who was 5-2 during the playoffs.

Theo Peckham took home the top defenceman award, posting 15 points in 18 games this season, while serving as an intimidating force on the Winterhawks blue line.

Andy Fracz was the winner of the Top Defensive Player, awarded to the forward judged to be the most defensively responsible.

Captain Greg Thede was awarded the Corry Solomway Memorial Award for the fifth-straight season and seventh time overall. The award is presented each season in recognition of perseverance, sportsmanship and dedication to hockey.

Defenceman Trevor Smith picked up the Community Service Award in recognition of his dedication to our community.

The Most Dedicated Winterhawk award was presented to General Manager Don Matheson, recognizing the endless hours he has committed to the club.

The Winterhawks also presented cheques to our charities that benefit from the 50/50 draws during each home game. The Saugeen Memorial Hospital Foundation, P.R.A.N.C.E., the Saugeen Shores Skating Club, Women’s House Serving Bruce & Grey, Special Olympics of Central Bruce each received approximately $1,500.

The executive of the Saugeen Shores Winterhawks thank all of our great fans and sponsors for their support this season and for each of the past 10 seasons.

Have a great summer and we’ll see you in October.

Photo Gallery


Jeff Flagler is presented the Jim Little Memorial Rookie of the Year Award by General Manager Don Matheson


Treasurer Don “Cass” Cumming with Top Defensive Player Andy Fracz


Head Coach Jim Grieve presents the Community Service Award to defenceman Trevor Smith


Russ Solomway [left] and Trish Solomway [right] present the Corry Solomway Memorial Award to Captain Greg Thede


Theo Peckham receives the Top Defenceman Award from Assistant Coach Mark Kazarian


General Manager Don Matheson receives the Most Dedicated Winterhawk Award from President Gord Lamont


Curtis Johnston receives the Leading Scorer – Regular Season award from Goaltending Coach Dave Rosner (Not pictured: Co-winner Bryan Kazarian)


Co-winners of the regular season MVP award, Curtis Johnston [left] and Jeff Flagler [right]. Presented by Jim McKinnon


Co-winners of the playoff MVP award, Jeff MacDermid [left] and Jeff Flagler [right]. Presented by Vice President Gordie MacKay

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s