Winterhawks Returning with Veteran Lineup

The Saugeen Shores Winterhawks will hit the ice next weekend with no shortage of familiar faces in the lineup.

The team has re-signed 21 players from last season, headlined by Captain Greg Thede and franchise leading scorer Brent MacDermid, who will both play their 11th season in Saugeen Shores.

2016/17 co-leading scorers Bryan Kazarian and Curtis Johnston will each return for their 10th season, joined by Trent Hawke, Andy Fracz, Andy Mitchell, Jay Thomson, Justin Ainslie, Adam Little, James McHaig, Blake Underwood and Alex Kuntz.

Joining Thede on the blueline are veteran defenders Trevor Smith, Nick Quaid, Jacob Brown, Mike Smailes and Shelby Simmons.

In the crease, goaltender Jeff Flagler is back between the pipes for his second season in Saugeen Shores.

The 24-year old Owen Sound native posted a 10-0-1 record in 11 games last season, setting a league record with a 1.80 goals-against average, earning the team’s co-MVP awards for both the regular season and playoffs, in addition to rookie of the year honours.

Flagler will be joined by veteran goaltenders Richard Harris and Matt Tutin.

Keep checking, as we will introduce five new players in the coming days.

The 11th season of Saugeen Shores Winterhawks hockey opens on Saturday October 7th in Kincardine against the Ripley Wolves.

One thought on “Winterhawks Returning with Veteran Lineup

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s