2022/23 Award Winners, News (Saugeen Shores Winterhawks)

News Article
News Article Image
Apr 17, 2023 | Winterhawks News | 584 views
2022/23 Award Winners
The Saugeen Shores Winterhawks wrapped up the 2022/23 season with the awards banquet.

The team opened the April 14th banquet by announcing it was changing the Community Service Award to honour scorekeeper Doug Wood, who passed away March 12th.

The first winners of the Doug Wood Community Service Award are Richie Buckland and Janey Harris, two Saugeen Shores Minor Hockey players who each found lost cash at The Plex over the winter.

In both cases, the two young people showed respect and maturity and the cash was turned in so that it could be reunited with its rightful owners.

The other award winners were as follows:

Jim Little Memorial Award (Rookie of the Year): Luke Pither and Medric Mercier
Top Defensive Player Award: Andy Mitchell
Most Dedicated Winterhawk: Assistant Coach Jeff Barfoot
Corry Solomway Memorial Award (Perseverance, Dedication and Sportsmanship): Trevor Smith
Regular Season Leading Scorer Award: Miles MacLean
Top Defenceman Award: Medric Mercier
Most Valuable Player, 2023 Playoffs: Lauchlin Elder
Most Valuable Player, 2022/23 Regular Season: Miles MacLean

The winner was also drawn for the Elgin Jewellers Trivia Contest, which was held throughout the season, with fans entering the draw by correctly answering trivia questions in their program. The lucky winner was Skip Smart of Port Elgin, who takes home a rather generous Elgin Jewellers gift certificate.

Once again, the Winterhawks organization would like to thank our fans and generous sponsors for their support during the 2022/23 season. We're already looking forward to what should be an exciting 2023/24 season.